Motor Vehicles

Come see us at the License Center to renew vehicle registration, transfer a title, apply for special plates, obtain a disability parking certificate, and much more! Visit the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website for more information.

Vehicle Insurance Information (PDF)
 

Fees


Typical transfer fees for a titled vehicle
Type Fee
Title Fee (An addition $2 is due for each lien recorded)
$6.25
Transfer Tax
$10.00
Public Safety Vehicle Fee
$3.50
Filing Fee
$10.00
Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
Varies

Transfer Title Fees
Type
Fee
Filing Fee $10.00 - due with each title transaction
Title Fee $6.25 - due on all initial applications for title and title transfers.

This includes:
  • Each issuance of a title
  • Repossessions
  • Corrected titles
  • Name changes
Duplicate Title Fee $7.25
Grant of Security Interest (Lien) $2.00
Late Transfer Penalty $2.00 - Charged when a transfer is not submitted within 10 business days of the date of sale.
Non-Title Transfer $3.00
Public Safety Vehicle Fee $3.50 - This fee is not charged on non-titled trailer transactions.
Reassignment of Security Interest $1.00
Repossession $6.25
Title Transfer Fee $5.50 - Due for each additional dealer reassignment on a Minnesota title
Transfer Tax $10 - This fee is not charged on:
  • Transfers from joint to single ownership (the fee is due on transfers from single to joint ownership)
  • Applications in the name of a licensed dealer, when the dealer is holding the vehicle for resale
  • Applications in the name of a leasing company
  • Applications in the name of a government entity
  • Application in the name of the owners listed on the foreign state title or registration card being surrendered
  • Applications for vehicles weighing less than 1,000 pounds