Property Assessment

2019 Quintile Inspection Schedule

Staff from Property Assessment are required by law to view properties periodically for property tax purposes. 

Notices will be sent to owners in our 2019 inspection areas prior to our visit to the property.  Nicollet County Property Assessment staff will have identification with them.  For some properties, interior inspection of the home is necessary.  The inspection typically takes less than 15 minutes and requires a walk-through of the home.  Outbuilding inspections vary based on building type. If no one is home at the time of our visit to the site, we will leave a notice for the owner.  Staff listed will be viewing the following areas in 2019:

Lafayette Township
Bridget, Melissa, Marc and Shana
Courtland TownshipBridget and Melissa
Granby TownshipBridget and Melissa
Ridgely TownshipBridget, Melissa, Marc and Shana
Nicollet TownshipBridget and Melissa
West Newton TownshipBridget, Melissa, Marc and Shana
Brighton TownshipBridget and Melissa
New Sweden TownshipMarc and Shana
Bernadotte TownshipMarc and Shana
City of Nicollet
City of Courtland Commercial Properties
City of Lafayette Commercial PropertiesMarc

Township Appraiser Map (PDF)

Property Tax Assessment

In Minnesota, property taxes provide most of the funding for local government services. Each property's share of taxes is determined according to its value, classification (use), and the property tax levies.

Assessment Responsibilities

Nicollet County assessors are responsible for estimating property values and setting property classification for tax purposes. Our department sends the property valuation (Value Notice) each spring to every property owner in Nicollet County. We administer a variety of property tax credit programs including Homestead, Green Acres, and Disaster Tax Credit. We address property valuation concerns and appeals and provide assessment and value information to the County Board, Local Boards of Review, and to the public.

The Assessor's responsibility is with market value and classification, not taxes. The Public Services Office handles collecting taxes and determining tax rates. The Minnesota State Legislature establishes property tax laws.

Annual Assessment Date

All property is valued and classified as of January 2 of each year. This value is used to calculate taxes the following year. If a property is only partially complete on January 2, it will have a partial value for that year's assessment. If a structure is complete on January 2, but it burns down on January 3, the fully assessed value still applies for that assessment year.

State Assessor Requirements

All assessors employed in Minnesota are required to hold 1 of 4 levels of licensure:

  • 1st Level: Certified Minnesota Assessor (CMA)
  • 2nd Level: Certified Minnesota Assessor Specialist (CMAS)
  • 3rd Level: Accredited Minnesota Assessor (AMA)
  • 4th Level: Senior Accredited Minnesota Assessor (SAMA)

Determining the Required Licensure Level

The complexity of area taxing districts and the total market valuation in several classes of property determine which licensure level is required. The authority to value income-producing properties is also restricted by law to only licensed assessors who have successfully completed at least 2 income classes. Extensive course work, written exams, oral exams, and/or the presentation of form or narrative appraisals along with required years of experience in the field must be satisfactorily accomplished by these individuals seeking licensure. Additionally, assessors must satisfy the established requirements for continuing education every 4 years to maintain their current licenses.